Griffon Sigil

I felt the need to take a night off from scales yesterday (38 days until the Calling!) so I decided to make a draft attempt at the Grey Wardens’ griffon insignia, which will go on Mahariel’s breastplate.  It’s had a layer of glaze to give me a slightly firmer surface for scoring in the detail with my pyrography tool and then I’ll decide whether to build up a few more layers of glaze before painting it or whether to cover it in Worbla.  I’m leaning towards Worbla at the moment but as I’ve not done much in the way of detailed work with it, I’m not too confident about how well it will turn out.  But that’s the whole point of having a practise run – if it all goes horribly wrong, it’s not like I will have wasted a huge amount of resources on it.

I got a couple of pictures while the glaze was drying and I’m surprisingly pleased with how it looks.  I’ve stocked up on old cardboard boxes from the stock room at work, so I can begin working up the pattern for the breastplate itself, so it’s full steam ahead on the Hero of Ferelden!

IMAG1872

IMAG1879

 

