A few people have contacted me to say lovely things about my work, which I really do appreciate.  It’s quite something to have others not only take the time to read my posts but to also get in touch to say that they like what I’m doing, so thank you very much to everyone who has messaged me, whether it was just to say hello or to offer suggestions and advice.

I’ve been asked several times why I don’t allow comments on my posts, as being able to comment would be the fastest and easiest method of letting people get in touch with me.  In all honesty, it’s simply the hassle of moderation that keeps me from turning the comments on.  I have another blog elsewhere for my writing, which is mostly inactive (in all seriousness, there are only so many times I can post “I’m still writing, go me!”) but for every friendly comment or constructive criticism, there are two trolls sending irrelevant and/or abusive messages and for every troll there’s half a dozen spam posts.

It’s not only disheartening to have to wade through all the rubbish (especially when I get an email notification about each and every one) but it’s time that I’d much rather spend on my actual hobbies.  So that’s why I turn off the comments.  I’m considering switching them on for a short experiment over the summer when I will, hopefully, not be madly constructing costumes and props in such a restricted timeframe and have a bit more time for adjusting the settings and moderating comments that need to be moderated.  In the meantime, if you want to say hi, offer constructive criticism or point me towards your own blog, the best way to get in touch is through my Facebook page.

Until next time!

nymsig

 

