Lindiranae

floral paper or parchment

I’m sure it won’t come as a shock to anyone that I’m a huge fan of the Dragon Age elves.  Mythology and history are long-harbored passions, so I found the snippets about Dalish culture and lore irresistible.  I loved collecting the codex entries about their history but there was one particular story that I just couldn’t let go of: the fall of Dirthavaren during the Second Exalted March.  It was one of those tales that settles into your brain, takes a look around and decides it’s going to move in on a long lease.  I was so enamored with it that The Silver Knight was the first in-game tale that I set to music and then I promptly went away, crammed my head with as much information as I could find on the Emerald Knights, and wrote Lindiranae’s version of events.

Bringing Lindiranae and Evanura back to life as a cosplay project seemed like a natural next step.  Since Evanura is an available weapon in game, it was easy enough to get reference images but the only imagery of the Emerald Knights (that I’ve managed to find, at least) were the statues in Din’an Hanin.  The same statues are also at the Winter Palace in Halamshiral, which let me get better lit screenshots.  Dozens and dozens of screenshots…

the_knights_tomb_-_a_statue
Emerald Knight statue at  Din’an Hanin.

Given that they’re the Emerald Knights, I knew greens were going to be predominant in my colour pallet, but I also wanted to include some of the bronze tones from the Sentinel Elves’ armour.

screenshotwin32_2433_final

With that in mind, I’ve tested a few colouring ideas out and I think I’ve finally settled on a design that I’m happy with.  I’m not expecting to have Lindiranae finished until spring 2017, so I’ve got plenty of time to experiment.   Evanura is already well underway and I’m expecting to be priming and painting over the weekend.

sketch

 

